Call for nominations for the IFSM awards for IMC19

  • 1.6.2017
  • Aktuality

The IFSM medals recognise outstanding achievements in four areas related to the activities of IFSM and will be next awarded at the IMC meeting to be held in Sydney in 2018. The IFSM awarded the first John Cowley Medal at the International Microscopy Congress in 2006. In 2012, the IFSM Executive Committee created three new awards, which now complement the John Cowley Medal and provide a broad coverage of the different fields of microscopy.

With the present call, we ask to solicit nominations for the IFSM Awards which will be presented in 2018 at the International Microscopy Congress to be held in Sydney, Australia.

The awards are devoted to the following four areas/fields upon which the award definition will be based:

i. Diffraction Physics and Microscopy

ii. New Developments in Optics and Instrumentation

iii. Applications in Physical Sciences

iv. Applications in Life Sciences

Following the order of the fields listed above, the awards are named after four internationally recognized pioneers in microscopy:

i. The John Cowley Medal

ii. The Vernon Cosslett Medal

iii. The Hatsujiro Hashimoto Medal

iv. The Eduard Kellenberger Medal

The awards honour the outstanding contributions of individual scientists and their achievements in the field of microscopy and related techniques. The award cannot be divided: for each award a single nominee has to be selected.

Nominations can be made by all national and regional societies and by individuals with expertise in the field. Self-nominations are not accepted. Recommendation letters should be accompanied by a short description/motivation of the nomination (max 1/2 page).

The four awardees will receive the award in the form of a medal and a financial prize at the International Microscopy Congress following their selection. Each awardee will be honoured by a short laudatio and shall deliver an invited talk at the IFSM Symposium during the IMC congress.

The deadline for the receipt of nominations for the IMC 2018 is June 30, 2017.


Please direct any questions regarding these awards to Professor Joachim Mayer

( in his capacity as Chair of the IFSM Nominations Committee in the first instance.

Kind Regards,

Professor Angus Kirkland

General Secretary

International Federation of Societies for Microscopy

Department of Materials University of Oxford

16 Parks Road – OXFORD - OX1 3PH

United Kingdom


Zlatí a stříbrní členové společnosti